PDA

View Full Version : plasma desktop doesn't work

pagno2
March 11th, 2017, 11:19 PM
I installed Plasma desktop following instructions in this site
http://www.tecmint.com/install-kde-plasma-5-in-linux/
however it is not running.
Ubuntu keeps running Gnome at start.
I also tried the console ctrl alt f1 but I can't login. I don't know what to write to login. Can't I do it through terminal?
GA

Frogs Hair
March 12th, 2017, 01:10 AM
Hello and Welcome

Did you select the KDE session during login per the instructions.

pagno2
March 12th, 2017, 09:42 AM
Thanks Frogs Hair
not really
I am new to ubuntu (just a couple of months in Mint then I switched to Ubuntu as it seems more stable on the machines I have).
I never fully understood this login issue. When I press ctrl alt f1 the screen turns black. Something like the terminal but not the terminal. Then I am supposed to digit a login and a password. I do know the password but I do not know the login. I guessed it was the account name, however it doesn't work and I'm stuck there with a login request and I have to switch off the pc and restart.
GA

Frogs Hair
March 12th, 2017, 03:27 PM
I'm referring to the instruction on the page you linked and selecting plasma from the greeter box icon.
http://www.tecmint.com/install-kde-plasma-5-in-linux/

pagno2
March 13th, 2017, 02:24 PM
Hi Frogs Hair
if you refer to "it will ask you to configure sddm login manager, click OK and select the ‘lightdm’ login manager as default" that window never popped up. At least I never saw it so I couldn't tik the choice.
GA

Frogs Hair
March 13th, 2017, 04:01 PM
The instruction is for 16.10 only so be sure that's what you're using. I would then enter all the instruction's commands one by one to make sure you didn't miss anything. It shouldn't cause any problems and it will ensure you followed all the steps.

pagno2
March 13th, 2017, 06:09 PM
I have Ubuntu 16.10 installed