PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 16.04 LTS currently; update to Ubuntu 16.04.02 LTS solves Ubuntu Software?

Umgb
March 6th, 2017, 09:30 AM
Ubuntu Software does NOT run under Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, which I currently have. --> would an update to Ubuntu 16.04.02 LTS solve this malfunctioning Ubuntu Software?

howefield
March 6th, 2017, 10:28 AM
Ubuntu Software does NOT run under Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, which I currently have. --> would an update to Ubuntu 16.04.02 LTS solve this malfunctioning Ubuntu Software?

There have been many fixes to the Ubuntu Software application, just run the normal updates which will take you to 16.04.2 and you'll get them.

What's the output of..

cat /etc/*-release

Umgb
March 6th, 2017, 12:51 PM
Hello UCG, (ah! Steptoe: those were the days...)

I'm a beginner with Terminal commands. But, here's the output from "cat /etc/*-release":
--------------------------

DISTRIB_ID=Ubuntu
DISTRIB_RELEASE=16.04
DISTRIB_CODENAME=xenial
DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Ubuntu 16.04.2 LTS"
NAME="Ubuntu"
VERSION="16.04.2 LTS (Xenial Xerus)"
ID=ubuntu
ID_LIKE=debian
PRETTY_NAME="Ubuntu 16.04.2 LTS"
VERSION_ID="16.04"
HOME_URL="http://www.ubuntu.com/"
SUPPORT_URL="http://help.ubuntu.com/"
BUG_REPORT_URL="http://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/"
VERSION_CODENAME=xenial
UBUNTU_CODENAME=xenialen
--------------------------
'Tis quite a misleading list, with both 16.04 and 16.04.2 there. The latter with Xenial Xerus - but that's Klakkity Klak (I think), surely?
If I do indeed already have 16.04.2 LTS, I wonder why Ubuntu Software initially functioned, but no longer so.
--> Then, I would appreciate advice on reactivating this often-useful program.
Thank you.

Umgb
March 9th, 2017, 02:05 PM
Some three days ago, I was given a helpful interim reply to my query. I have yet to find assistance regarding my query with my output listing, which I included.
Being held in limbo is frustrating.

howefield
March 9th, 2017, 02:14 PM