PDA

View Full Version : [server] Installation on a thin client for efficiency and silence!

guy.joseph
March 4th, 2017, 05:32 PM
Hi

Looking to Install Ubuntu Server 16.02 (i686) to run OwnCloud on a HP T5740 thin client. OwnCloud is a Dropboxesque package which I really like, based on a LAMP stack. I am expecting to use the latest versions of Apache and MySQL.

It is fitted with a 2GB flash memory drive and a 500gb Hard Drive. I could also install extra USB sticks if the 2gb module isn't enough memory.

The unit will be used infrequently, by a single user and most of the time will be sitting idle. What I'd love to achieve is that everything "vital" that LAMP stack and Owncloud need to stay alive is kept on the flash drive, which would mean that the hard drive isn't being accessed when the machine is not being actively used, and therefore could be spun down... this would make for a completely silent machine most of the time.

I'm quite new to Linux, and I'm guessing so far that this setup will require installing with different partitions of the OS on different physical drives, but I am not sure which to put where!

I would really appreciate any help in how to set this up to work in this way. It would be amazing if I could have the machine sitting there silently for most of the time. I'm quite happy to accept a fractional delay on the first request when the hard drive has to spin up.

Cheers

DuckHook
March 5th, 2017, 05:35 AM
Ubuntu will not install dynamically on 2GB of flash. You might get it to install as a static LiveUSB image—though I don't know if this can be done with server—but this means no persistence, updates, patches or /home. In a server environment, not patching is a bad idea.

Your best bet is your own idea to install onto a USB stick. GUI environments tend to be sluggish when run this way, but CLI-only servers aren't too bad.

Your use-case is not that complicated:

Install the whole OS (including /home) dynamically to the USB stick.