PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Cannot install Ubuntu 16.10 from USB

noahsutter
March 3rd, 2017, 12:13 AM
Hi Ubuntu Forums. First post here, and I'm new to Ubuntu and the Linux World in general.

I'm having an issue with installing Ubuntu 16.10 and 16.04.2 LTS. I am able to download the ISO, burn it to a USB (From a Windows Device), boot from the USB, but once I get past the GRUB menu, I get a blank screen and my Monitor is unable to detect a display.

I do have an external GPU - Nvidia Geforce 970.

What's odd to me is that not only does 16.10 and 16.04.2 have this problem, but 16.04.1 did not have this problem. From a 16.04.1 installation, I am able to get past the GRUB menu and install/use Ubuntu just fine. Also, other Distros that I have tried recently, like Mint KDE and Manjaro, have not had this problem.

Please note that I have also tried "try without installing" and I was unable to get that to work, either.

I have tried alternating between Ubuntu versions, with 16.10 and 16.04.2 not working and 16.04.1 working with other flavors of Ubuntu, such as Kubuntu and Ubuntu Gnome.

I have also tried installing 16.04.1 and then doing an in place upgrade to 16.10, and after the installation and initial reboot, the same thing happens.

In the real world, I'm a Windows PC Tech, but this Linux thing has me stumped! Which is too bad because after distro-hopping, I think I have finally found a Linux home. And I have learned to love the Gnome DE.

Thanks in Advance for your time and help!

dajavex71
March 3rd, 2017, 12:24 AM
I seen something similar on an older machine. Try the following on the ubuntu bootup screen, select F6 Other Options - highlight acpi=off(press space to select), then repeat for noapic.

noahsutter
March 3rd, 2017, 12:35 AM