PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't copy files from NAS in the Ubuntu Desktop enviroment

kisify
February 22nd, 2017, 02:14 PM
Hello,
I am quite new to Ubuntu an so far I have been always able to find a suited solution to my problems, but now a problem occured where I don't find any suitable solution.

The problem consists of the fact that I can not copy any files via drag & drop in the desktop enviroment from my NAS to my PC. However the " cp -a " function in the Terminal works perfectly fine as well as I am able open the files directly on the NAS(attached to my fritz box).
When I want to drag & drop a file, the popup window (File operations) appears, but it doesn`t move at all. (an empty file is created in the destination folder though)

Any suggestions what the problem might be.

Thanks a lot in advance.

TheFu
February 22nd, 2017, 08:05 PM
Welcome to the forums.

There are many different file managers. Which are you using? caja, thunar, pcmanfm, nautilus and there must be 10 others. Try each.

Which network protocol is being used? CIFS, NFS, AFS, SFTP, FTP, DAV, .... ?

When you drop the files, is that into a directory where your userid has "write" permissions? Try a different directory. Make one under your HOME or under /tmp/ somewhere. Does it work then?

kisify
February 23rd, 2017, 04:45 PM
Hello,

for the moment I am using Nautilus but I already had the idea to switch to Nemo which did not work either . The copy window pops up but the transfer doesn't start at all.
My NAS has been mounted with a CIFS protocol!

Unfortunately that doesn't work either because I tried to drop a file to different locations (Desktop, documents folder,...)

kisify
February 23rd, 2017, 04:51 PM
Just for info:

//192.168.178.1/fritz-nas/ /media/NASfritz cifs credentials=/home/k**/.smbcredentials,user 0 0

thats the way I mounted the NAS.
As I said, i can write to the NAS but copying files to the PC doesn't work

TheFu
February 23rd, 2017, 06:02 PM