PDA

View Full Version : Why should I switch to Ubuntu?

MaJoR42
August 12th, 2006, 11:54 PM
I used to be a Linux sysadmin but due to life, the universe and everything, am now only using Linux for my personal interests. I've always used Redhat and then Fedora, but I'm getting tired of the rate at which I need to upgrade if I want to stay current. Also, Fedora has gone in the direction of SELinux, which tends to interfere with everything I want to do.

I'd appreciate it if someone could give me some good reasons why I should switch to Ubuntu. In other words, why is Ubuntu a better system than Fedora?

I posted this here because I'm looking for answers that are more in depth than just "because everyone likes Ubuntu better".

Regards,
MaJoR42

maniacmusician
August 13th, 2006, 12:01 AM
in regard to what you're looking for, the answer comes quick. you should switch because Ubuntu suits the needs of the average normal user. that's what it was built for. Even though it can be customized into something you would need as a sysadmin (I know you dont anymore; i'm just saying), It starts out as a system for the average user that want's to use linux only for their personal interests. and while there is some hard work required on some systems regarding customization of the way it looks, the way it plays certain things, I think that comes with every good system. To sum it up, Ubuntu would be good for you because you don't need to worry about keeping up to date all the time, and it's well suited for "personal interests." Unless you set Ubuntu up to do complex things, you usually don't get too many complex problems.

edit: also, be aware of the different flavors of Ubuntu. The main three: Ubuntu (Gnome), Kubuntu (KDE), and Xubuntu (XFCE; which has gotten a lot better recently).