PDA

View Full Version : [Solved] Advice on laptop for new-ish ubuntu user

spanby
February 11th, 2017, 05:19 PM
I am a Ph.D. student in economics and I typically do two things with my laptop: (1) write code / check email / surf youtube, and (2) run statistical analysis. I am currently running 16.04 on my Asus ROG G751, and it is wonderful for my hardcore analysis tasks. However, it is BIG and HEAVY... some days I am only writing code or writing a LaTeX document, so it doesn't make sense to carry a 15lb laptop around (slight exaggeration). Most of my computer and coding knowledge is highly specialized in the area of Economics, so for the purposes of this thread please feel free to treat me like a complete newbie.

I am looking for an inexpensive laptop that can handle Ubuntu 16.04, Sublime Text Editor 3, email through Thunderbird, and watching the occasional youtube video. My options are:

Dell Precision M70, used, $40
Would buy it from a guy on Craigslist with Ubuntu 16.04 installed
Intel Pentium M 2GHz single core
2 GB DDR2

---OR---

Lenovo ThinkPad X131e, refurbished, $60
Would buy off Ebay with Windows 10 installed
AMD E-Series (Thats all they say) 1.4 GHz dual core
4 GB DDR3

I am leaning toward the Dell. In my mind, it is like comparing a very old top-of-the-line Cadillac to a new-ish entry-level Kia.

Does anyone have an opinion on this? We are only talking about a few dollars, so it is not the end of the world if I make the wrong choice. However, I would really enjoy hearing your opinions so that I can learn for the future.

Thanks!!

-M.S.

oldos2er
February 11th, 2017, 05:25 PM
If you put Lubuntu on the Pentium M instead of default Ubuntu, it would probably perform ok except for youtube.

wildmanne39
February 11th, 2017, 05:26 PM
Thread moved to The Cafe.

spanby
February 11th, 2017, 05:42 PM
If you put Lubuntu on the Pentium M instead of default Ubuntu, it would probably perform ok except for youtube.