PDA

View Full Version : Wallpaper changer

heatopher2
February 1st, 2017, 02:32 AM
Hi Everyone. I'm still fairly new to all this. Help me out please. Sorry, not sure which board to put this on, so just dropping it here.

To cut a long story short, I've been trying two different wallpaper changers, "wallch" and "variety" on my desktop and netbook, both of which I've recently migrated over to Ubuntu. I really want them to work, as both have some nice features, but they also both seem to have problems. Neither is working at all at the moment, which is making me a bit sad :sad: I know it's not the end of the world, but I really do appreciate a bit of desktop art.

Is it a problem that I've had both of them installed at the same time? I don't have them both starting at boot, by the way. The weird thing is that wallch was working more or less fine on the desktop until I thought to try variety on there. Now they both seem to have been knocked out! Slightly strange. Neither of them has been working very reliably on the netbook. Variety was OK for a bit, but seems to have given up the last two days.

Or is it irrelevant that they're installed side by side, and is it just that they're both not being properly maintained any more?

If so, any alternatives? Thanks very much!

wildmanne39
February 1st, 2017, 02:38 AM
Thread moved to Desktop Environments for better support.

TheFu
February 1st, 2017, 02:46 AM
I use feh. No GUI. Probably not what you want.
Saw a LAS episode where they recommended something - sorry, don't remember which episode or which tool. OMGUbuntu covered it, I think.

Anyway, here's the script I have in my crontab. Runs every 30 min:

#!/usr/bin/env perl

my @files=`ls -1 ~/Pictures/Best/*g`;

# pick a random file
my $bg = $files[rand @files];

`env DISPLAY=:0 /usr/bin/feh --bg-scale $bg` ;

heatopher2
February 1st, 2017, 05:04 AM