PDA

View Full Version : NEWBIE - Need Advice On Setting Up New Linux Machine

mathfish
January 24th, 2017, 03:27 AM
As the title says, I am a newbie to installing and setting up a linux distro. I am wanting to set up a modestly beefy workstation with Ubuntu to start doing some coding work. I first started looking at ZaReason or System76 to configure a machine with something like a i7 processor and 32 GB of RAM but the price coming out the other side was too steep. So I began looking on ebay to buy a hp z series but they all seem to come preloaded with windows. I did a little googling and I found very little info on how to install ubuntu on say a hp z820 series but did find a few posts mentioning problems. . .

So I am very nervous about buying a $700+ machine that has windows on it and become a head ache because I don't have the skill to install ubuntu but I also am not too eager fork out $1000+ to buy a preloaded built one from a vendor.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!

kevdog
January 24th, 2017, 03:44 AM
Ok -- don't fret -- think of it as an adventure. You can always dual boot, and in your case, depending on how much you really want to use Linux -- possibly installing it within a hypervisor like virtualbox is a solution for you.

If you want to install on bare metal, linux problems usually associated with poor drivers. You want to find out for example the best you can about the available graphics card (Id say Intel Graphics support > ATI > Nvidia) however all can work depending on the card. Networking Card or chipset sometimes is also a problem. Specialized sound cards also a problem, however if using on board audio usually they work. Research types of components since that is the discrepancy. The first time you do this its a long learning curve. Now on probably my 20th linux install, I don't fret as much.

poorguy
January 24th, 2017, 03:49 AM
Take a look at this thread it may shed some good advice before throwing down a lot of money.