PDA

View Full Version : HP Pavilion DV6500 loaded with Ubuntu 16.10 needs better NIVIDIA driver

vanvonu
January 24th, 2017, 12:55 AM
The IT guy at my library loaded Ubuntu 16.04 onto my tired old HP Pavilion DV6500. After a few days, an upgrade to 16.10 was offered and accepted. Although many problems disappeared, the worst one remains. When I'm in Firefox, the screen will go dark and monochrome for various periods. When in this condition, the computer appears to be locked up, but always comes out, eventually. He told me that the video driver is not the correct one for the NIVIDIA chip in the machine, but he didn't know where to get a better one. I'm pretty much convinced this is the problem because when I click on dash, the screen goes into a technicolor psychosis, although dash works well enough, once I can find the window and get the cursor into it. I'm using the computer as my Linux classroom, so please treat me like a complete newbie, because my experience with IBM 1400 assembler and Univac 1100 JCL are of absolutely no use to me, 40 years on:-) Thank you in advance.

DogMatix
January 24th, 2017, 02:31 AM
From what I can ascertain the HP DV6500 laptop (circa. 2007) uses the Nvidia GeForce 8400M GS graphics which seems to require the 340.xx Nvidia Legacy driver which can be found here.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/unix.html

I would also suggest the specs of your laptop are a little lean to be running Ubuntu 16.10 and maybe a more lightweight distro (ie. Xubuntu or Lubuntu) would offer you improved performance.

poorguy
January 24th, 2017, 03:34 AM
I have an hp-pavilion-d4650y / 09/18/2006 / Intel Core2 Duo 6400 / NVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE / 3.0 GB DDR2 and it runs Ubuntu Mate 16.04 really well using the Nvidia proprietary driver. :)

vanvonu
January 24th, 2017, 08:47 PM