PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Xubuntu doesn't boot after new installation

gupperino
January 20th, 2017, 01:45 AM
So first off I just want to say hey! This is my first time on the Ubuntu forums so I'm doing my best to follow the rules and guidelines, but if I mess something up please let me know so I can make appropriate changes! So lets get into it shall we?

The Backstory:
I recently acquired an old Dell Inspiron Mini 1012 from ebay. It has a 1.66ghz Intel Atom with 2gigs of ram. I also switched out the 160gb HDD with windows 7 for a 250gb HDD that is presumed to be empty (well now it has Xubuntu on it). The machine works fine on windows. I first installed Kali Linux as I was hoping to have a small netbook to do some pen-testing on. The install went fine and overall I had no issues, except that it was slower than I would have preferred. I also realized that a more basic/general OS such as ubuntu would work better in the long run because it would lighter and more useable for day to day tasks. So I tried Ubuntu, only to find the same performance issue as with Kali. Xubuntu was the next choice and the one I would prefer to go with. I installed it that seemed to run smoothly. I installed some basic things such as wireshark and aircrack as well as ran some basic system updates (just apt to upgrade, update, and dist-upgrade). I also made sure that the intel video driver was installed and updated as I read that that can cause issues. So this is where things went south.

The Issue:
I restarted the laptop only to get a terminal style message that read:

/dev/sda1: recovering journal
/dev/sda1: clean, ######/##### files, #######/###### blocks
(I replaced the numbers with # just to save time and because they don't seem important.)