PDA

View Full Version : Newbie! Want To Install On Existing Empty Partition Without Deleting Other Partition

go7hic13
January 5th, 2017, 02:18 AM
Hi All...

I'm new to Ubuntu and have a question regarding installation of the OS.

I have a Windows 10 Laptop which has:
1. a 256gb SSD
2. 1TB 7200 RPM HDD.

I currently have the 1TB HDD partition into a 60/40 split and have Windows 10 Apps and Data on the First Partition of the drive. I would like to install Ubuntu (Any recommended version for web development) onto the existing (but empty) 2nd partition on the same drive WITHOUT destroying or losing the first partition on the 1TB HDD (E:Windows & G:(Soon to be Ubuntu) according to windows 10).

I know others have posted similar questions yet I'm a bit confused and don't want to lose any data on the existing first partition. I would like to install Ubuntu on to the 2nd Partition on the 1TB drive without overwriting or repartitioning the drive.

Can someone break down the steps into the simplest form to get this done. I've tried but the menu options are VERY unclear as to what is going to happen to the first partition and don't want to lose the data. I don't want to reformat or repartition the drive. I would like to just install Ubuntu onto the 2nd partition (40%) of the 1TB drive.

If you need additional information please let me know and I can provide it regarding my laptop.

Also, I would like to be able run things like php and other web environments for web development and a recommended flavor of Ubuntu would be welcomed.

Thanks in advance!

TheFu
January 5th, 2017, 03:14 PM
a) Make a backup of anything you cannot afford to lose BEFORE starting. If you can't/won't do this, you accept the risks of total data loss. AND test the restore. I can't be clearer.

b) "other web environments" is extremely vague. There are hundreds of those, each with very different requirements.