PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] How to correctly enable the Login sound in Xubuntu 16.04 and new versions

Roger_Peartree
December 20th, 2016, 04:02 PM
I'm posting this because I discovered that by using the old methods that were posted in the Ubuntu Forum (CLOSED thread here: https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1869787) the login sound won't play because the /sounds folder is owned by "root" so it's not possible to play the sound from a user login, it would need "sudo", which is impossible or "root login" which is not advisable. And the other problem is that the "play" binary is not installed in the new Xubuntu (or any other Ubuntu versions), it was substituted by the "aplay" binary, and "aplay" will ONLY play .wav files, not .oga or .ogg as "play" would. Personally I think this substitution was a super wrong way to go. The older "play" would play anything just fine but I'm not a developer...
So that you know, "play" is still used in Linux Mint, and since I use Linux Mint 18 Xfce on my netbook, this tutorial would be much short and simple. But I do love Xubuntu 16.04.1 in my PC!
So here are the steps:

1 - First we have to take ownership of the /usr/share/sounds folder by opening the Terminal and doing:

sudo chown -R your-username-here:root /usr/share/sounds

2 - Then we need to open "Session and Startup" and go to the "Application Autostart" tab and click on the "Add+" button.
You'll see 3 fields "Name", "Description" and "Command". I personally used "Login Sound" as Name "Play the login sound" as Description and now the Command is as follows.
Click the folder icon at the right side of "Command" and then navigate like this: choose File System then /usr/bin and select the "aplay" binary, it's right on top, alphabetically sorted.
That path will appear in the "Command field, so that's the executable player. Then you'll need to give a Space and add the path to your desired login sound, like /usr/share/sounds/...