PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Grub doesn't install

luizmedeiros87
November 13th, 2016, 02:32 PM
Hello everyone,

I'm trying to install Lubuntu on my GF's notebook because it's fairly old and the hardware can't handle "heavy" stuff.

Anyways, the problem is everytime i install the OS everything goes fine, but at the end of the installation it keep showing an error message that states that the Grub couldn't be installed and i need to hard reset the notebook (because it will be stuck at this error).

Anybody knows what i can do to solve this?

PS: I'm new to the Linux community, so i don't know much.

Bucky Ball
November 13th, 2016, 02:40 PM
Thread moved to Installation and Upgrades.

More specific support here.

Welcome. Are you dual-booting with Windows? If so, which number? Which release of Lubuntu? The exact error you are getting at the end of the install would be helpful. Any other details you can think of, post them. ;)

luizmedeiros87
November 13th, 2016, 02:57 PM
Thread moved to Installation and Upgrades.

More specific support here.

Welcome. Are you dual-booting with Windows? If so, which number? Which release of Lubuntu? The exact error you are getting at the end of the install would be helpful. Any other details you can think of, post them. ;)

Thanks for moving the thread to the correct section.

No dual booting, i'm trying to wipe the HD and do a clean install. It's the latest Lubuntu version (16.10). And the error says something about it could not install the Grub on /target/ something like that. The installation goes just fine, but just at the closure it shows this message and ask to select another local to install the Grub, but doesn't matter if i try to change the location it'll be stuck at this error window. I'll try to take a picture if possible and post it here.

Bucky Ball
November 13th, 2016, 03:19 PM