PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu upgrade to 16.04 from 14.04

evilvargon
November 2nd, 2016, 07:06 PM
I would like to preface this by saying I am a beginner at using Linux. I have only had it the past year and haven't played around with it as much as I should have.

That aside, I tried to upgrade from 14.04 to (I believe) 16.04. The installation went okay, and it unpacked a number of libraries. But when it tried to unpack fonts, the entire computer crashed. I could move my cursor, but no luck pressing anything. No keyboard or mouse actions did anything. Now when I try to load in with Ubuntu I get the following screen: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_fz6gi4tNpcMVhrMkFvSTlqVk0/view?usp=drivesdk

I have a msi gp60 2qe Leopard. I am using GNU GRUB version 2.02~beta2-9ubuntu1.12 to dual boot Ubuntu and windows 10

ian-weisser
November 3rd, 2016, 04:40 AM
Boot from a LiveUSB.
Use the LiveUSB environment to back up your data to an external device (not to the LiveUSB, which is read-only).
Install 16.04 fresh from the LiveUSB.

A crash in the middle of an upgrade from one release to another is super difficult to recover from, and requires lots of skill and time.
It's generally not worthwhile to fix that kind of (very rare) failure, but to simply wipe and start over.

kevdog
November 3rd, 2016, 06:52 AM
I'm sorry I can't be of more help but I can only point you in the right direction. I've only done something similar on an Arch Linux System where by you would boot from a USB or install disk, and then mount the partitions of your original drive and chroot into the mounted directory whereby you could then try to upgrade various items within the installation. I think there is a tool called debchroot or maybe you could just straight chroot into the directory tree. Come to think about it, I'm pretty sure you could use the arch boot method to chroot because once your in the chroot environment, you essentially would be back into the Ubuntu way of doing things.