PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 16.04 Install on SSD: How Much SWAP for 64Gb RAM & Where to Put it? SSD or HDD? How?

OzzyFrank
October 27th, 2016, 04:37 AM
Hi. First off, I've been installing Ubuntu for 10 years now, starting with a dual-boot system in 2006 (with basically no knowledge), and I know how to search for answers (and prefer to do so than ask questions). However, now that I want to install to an SSD drive, with a /home partition on a HDD, I am not sure if I should be using the "Guided" or "Something Else" partitioning options. Also, there is the SWAP question: not just whether I actually need it with 64Gb RAM - and believe me, the opinions on this differ WILDLY! - but whether I should stick it on the SSD (again, much contradictory info on this out there) and HOW MUCH I should allocate if so (don't get me started on the divide in opinion on this!).

So, basically, I am leaning towards just putting the system on the 128Gb SSD, using most of the 3Tb HDD as the /home partition, and leaving a bit on that as SWAP (size debatable). Oh, and for the record, I plan to install the 64-bit version on an i7 machine. So I'd like your opinions on the following:

Do I even need a SWAP partition when I have 64Gb of RAM? People are either saying a Linux system simply cannot function properly without one, or that they don't have one and all is fine. Those in the former category argue that even if you have 64Gb or even 128Gb you should have SOME Swap, even if it is basically a token amount of 6Gb or 16Gb, or even as low as 4Gb. The argument there is that no matter how much free RAM you have, there are apps and processes that will always want to write to Swap. But others say that their auto install never even created a Swap, and they've never noticed anything since they have 32Gb or 64Gb of RAM. Which leads me to: