PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] (initramfs) unable to find a live medium containing a live file system

DoABarrelRoll
October 23rd, 2016, 07:07 AM
Hi everyone. I'm new to Ubuntu. I'm trying to use a bootable USB pen drive(32gb) to install Ubuntu to another pen drive (128gb) so that I can just boot to the 128gb and keep the install separate from Windows 10. I got as far as booting to the 32gb and going through the installer to the point it asked me where I want to install Ubuntu. However, I forgot to plug the 128gb in before booting so it wasn't on the list of locations. I rebooted back to Windows, plugged in the 128gb drive and then used the advanced boot options to boot back to the 32gb drive. When I do that, GRUB comes up like the first time and I use the arrows and enter key to select Install Ubuntu just like I did the first time. However now it just shows the Ubuntu logo with the loading dots underneath it and it takes a lot longer before it comes up with the error message in the title. I did not change and BIOS settings or anything like that (seems to be a common problem when googling this issue). I made 0 changes. The installer worked and then I booted back to Windows and now it gives me the error, seemingly out of the blue. Any ideas on how this happened or how to fix it without changing any BIOS settings as it was working with the same settings earlier.

My laptop info is as follows;

Inspiron 13-7353
Windows 10 Home Edition v1607 build 14393.321
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6200U CPU @ 2.30GHz 2.40GHz
8.00 GB RAM (7.86 usable)
64-bit operating system x64-based processor
I am trying to use the latest Ubuntu LTS ISO.
I used the Rufus bootable USB drive guide on Ubuntu.com to make the 32gb media install drive.

Any help would be appreciated.

Bucky Ball
October 23rd, 2016, 07:19 AM