PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] old pc, two hard drives

oneleded
October 23rd, 2016, 04:52 AM
i have windows xp on seagate 120 gb 1st drive. i want to put lubuntu on 250 gb 2nd hard drive. i dont care so much if they are connected to each other as i plan on running them separate. i can push F10 on start up and choose a drive. i am not sure how to format lubuntu. it has too many options. fat32, and other versions, including ntfs. i would not mind if there was a partition that was ntfs, i mostly just need the start up one, then i got 200 or so gb to play with. i still have enough space on the other hd when i need windows. i dont plan on transferring files from xp drive 1, to lubuntu drive 2. i can put in the lubuntu dvd-r, it see's both drives, then concentrate on on the second one. just too many options for me on drive 2 that i dont understand. i am quite new to this. any ideals. //Ed

ubfan1
October 23rd, 2016, 05:33 AM
There are lots of disk partitioning recommendations around. I like to have a 25G root ext4 filesystem, another 25G ext4 for a test root for new installation testing, a swap (equal to mem size if hibernating, 2G otherwise), and the rest a data partition, fat32 if shared with windows on the size disk you have. Of course, you can share the first disk too, but I prefer not to write ntfs from Ubuntu.

Bucky Ball
October 23rd, 2016, 07:10 AM
Lubuntu, or any Ubuntu, MUST be installed on an EXT* partition, these days EXT4. NTFS and FAT are irrelevant. They can be used by Ubuntu as storage partitions ONLY.

Lubuntu needs, at the very least, two partitions:

/ = where the OS and your personal data will go.
/swap = 2Gb and like a Win pagefile.

If you want to split your personal data and settings from the OS, you would create a /home partition also, large as you can. In other words:

/ = 20Gb (and that's probably too much)
/home = big as you can
/swap = 2Gb

Hope that gives you some clues.