PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu on Chromebook - I'm stuck

stevlor
October 22nd, 2016, 07:36 PM
Hi Ubuntu/Linux absolute newbie here. I wanted to use Skype and OBS studio on my chromebook so I looked at installing linux. I followed the steps at http://lifehacker.com/how-to-install-linux-on-a-chromebook-and-unlock-its-ful-509039343 and got was running Ubuntu 12.04, I downloaded Skype and managed to use the crouton extension in chrome so that it opened up in a very accessible tab on my chromebook. However, OBS-studio is only available for 14.04 Ubuntu and later (so I read) so off I set this morning trying to update it from 12.04 to 14.04.

I'm now running Ubuntu 14.04 (at least this is what it says when I type the lsb_release -a command) - but now I have two problems:

1) from chrome, when I open a terminal and type sudo startxfce4, nothing happens - I just get:

Entering /mnt/stateful_partition/crouton/chroots/precise...
/usr/bin/startxfce4: Starting X server
/usr/local/bin/xinit: 34: exec: /usr/bin/xinit: not found
Unmounting /mnt/stateful_partition/crouton/chroots/precise...

I can only get into Ubuntu by typing "sudo startxfce4 -n trusty"

Is this normal? And I can't seem to use crouton any more at all - it just doesn't connect, I can only switch between Chrome OS and Ubuntu by the shortcut ctrl+alt+**** left/right - any way to fix this?

2) More importantly, whatever steps I follow to install OBS-studio, I fail. I follow their instuctions: https://github.com/jp9000/obs-studio/wiki/Install-Instructions#ubuntu-installation

I get to the final line: sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install obs-studio

it seems to be installing fine, and then this is what I get:

"some packages could not be installed. This may mean you have requested an impossible situation..."

Can anyone help?

TheFu
October 22nd, 2016, 10:53 PM