PDA

View Full Version : coming from VB, trying to create an app

pablogener
October 21st, 2016, 02:02 AM
I swear by everything good in this world I did search before posting.

I switched to ubuntu linux sometime ago, because I was given a netbook with ubuntu preinstalled, and at work every computer we have at the office was migrated to ubuntu too.
I started programming at 8 with BASIC. I started learning VB ~15 years ago and have made hundreds of little apps with it. Now I'm living in the linux world and everything seems just too awesome to go back to M$. The thing is: I need to make programs for things I do, and I would really need to share my work with my colleages. I *reeeeaaaally* need to be able to hand out programs to other people in my work team so they use them too.
I tried gambas and found out (the hard way) that you can't give your programs to others and have them run your software, unless they install gambas beforehand.
I want to give others a somewhat of an equivalent of a .exe file and have them run that. It seems that that just doesn't quite exist at all, in linux.
What to do?
Sorry for the big story and all.
Long story short: I made a bash script that accepts arguments at command line and want to build a GUI for it.
Installed Qt, after a half-hour tinkering around didn't find how to $#"@$"# code what happens when a user clicks on a button.
Installed Python (with 'Glade') and hade to: first, run a console command to start designing the UI, then quit that, and run another console command to start editing the code.. damn, is it really possible to accomplish anything while working like that?
Free software is the best of the world.
It is more secure, more stable, evolves faster, is more reliable, everything about it is marvelous.
There may be a small inconvenience but it also brings a great freedom.
So, bare a small inconvenience and you get in trade a great freedom.