PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Upgrading 14.04 to 16.04 over 24hrs. still upgrading? ? ?

JustJazz
September 14th, 2016, 06:03 PM
I'm new to Ubuntu so I wanted to upgrade after notification of upgrade available but Distribution Upgrade has been going on for over 24hrs. I'm sure this is NOT normal? ? ?

howefield
September 14th, 2016, 06:07 PM
No, it is very much abnormal.

How are you upgrading, what process have you gone through to get to where you are now ?

Possibly a dialogue window hiding somewhere needing input ?

JustJazz
September 14th, 2016, 07:29 PM
No, it is very much abnormal.

How are you upgrading, what process have you gone through to get to where you are now ?

Possibly a dialogue window hiding somewhere needing input ?

As soon as I turned on my desktop I was prompt to upgrade or upgrade was available. . . I think I made the mistake of not making sure 14.04 was up to date.

This is where it's been after packages were downloaded:

JustJazz
September 15th, 2016, 04:42 AM
Sorry for DOUBLE posting. . . just got off work and still NO change :confused:

howefield
September 15th, 2016, 07:00 AM
Pretty clear that the upgrade has stalled and won't go any further without input or instruction from you. Can you scroll down in the terminal window shown in the screenshot or resize to see more of it ?

PS. You are correct, prior to the upgrade it would be good practice to ensure that you start from a fully up to date system. Too late for that now though, just have to deal with what yo have.

JustJazz
September 15th, 2016, 07:07 AM
Pretty clear that the upgrade has stalled and won't go any further without input or instruction from you. Can you scroll down in the terminal window shown in the screenshot or resize to see more of it ?

PS. You are correct, prior to the upgrade it would be good practice to ensure that you start from a fully up to date system. Too late for that now though, just have to deal with what yo have.