PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] 16.04 install hung up

dennis36
September 7th, 2016, 03:00 AM
I downloaded 16.04 last night and then started the install. I got a message that said this install will likely take several hours, so I went to bed. This am the install is hung up at Unpacking cabextract (i386) and a terminal screen within the install window is apparently asking me to OK a TrueType core font End User License Agreement (EULA) but, I can get no response from the install screen, though I can access the dashboard and the terminal window says I'm running 16.04. I'm fairly new to Linux and Ubuntu and I have been away from this computer for several months, so forgive me if I seem a bit dense. I have read over many posts re 16.04 install and upgrade issues, but haven't found anything that gives me a real clue as to how I might restart/complete or fix this install. I am running Windows along side on a separate disk drive. I'm afraid to just shut down and try to update or start over because I have no way of knowing if boot files have already been installed. The install window crawl bar would indicate that the total 16.04 install is about 40-45% finished.

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated.

ian-weisser
September 7th, 2016, 02:34 PM
Abort and start the install over.
As you discovered, the installer will ask you questions during the install. It's not meant to run unattended.

Bucky Ball
September 7th, 2016, 02:38 PM
I have a feeling you ticked the 'install third-party drivers' and 'update software' boxes during the install. Don't. Just install. You can add them later.

Adding third-party drivers during install can cause issues, as can updating during install. Once you have the OS installed, easy to update and check for third-party drivers. You quite possibly don't need any, depending on your machine and hardware. It is by no means a given that you do so leave it out and see how that goes.

Good luck. :)