PDA

View Full Version : Programming Ubuntu

prole101
August 21st, 2016, 12:07 PM
Hi All,

Newbie here. A thousand apologies if my question has been asked a thousand times already, though I didn't see what I was looking for in the stickies, the first page or a rudimentary search.
I'm interested in programming apps for Linux. I have experience in embedded C and some knowledge of C++ (and object oriented design in general).
I need a foundation in how Linux works and how to program applications for it (as in desktop apps). Will be eternally grateful for direction to good online resources to this end, and perhaps offline (i.e. books) ones too. (Whilst grateful for the sentiment, should it occur to you, I am not looking for a cout << "hello world" type app to get me going. A basic windowing app in C++ would be more like it, cheers in advance).

many thanks in advance.

Additional info: I have 16.04.1 installed. I am very much a Linux newbie. I know a few command line operations like ls, how to install a package and that sort of thing, but still very inexperienced with Linux. (I think I posted this in the wrong thread! doh!)

howefield
August 21st, 2016, 12:12 PM
Hello and welcome to the forums.

Thread moved to the "Programming Talk" forum for a better fit.

prole101
August 21st, 2016, 12:26 PM
Apologies and thanks

prole101
August 21st, 2016, 12:35 PM
Ah this forum has a useful set of stickies. Cheers

Olav
August 21st, 2016, 04:24 PM
For GUI applications you will probably use the GTK+ 3 toolkit (the toolkit provides all your basic windows, toolbars, menus, buttons etc.). This looks like a nice primer, but it uses straight C not C++: https://developer.gnome.org/gtk3/stable/index.html.

Of course GTK+ 3 can also be used with C++, Python and others.

wxWidgets is another cross platform, multi language toolkit (I like it a lot). And this is a proper tutorial with C++: http://zetcode.com/gui/wxwidgets/.