PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install of Ubuntu 16.04 along side Win10

sixgunSal
July 29th, 2016, 03:44 PM
Hello, I am brand new at this and I hope I'm in the right area.
I have win10 installed on a 480gig ssd. I just upgraded from win7 last week. The windows(the used part of my ssd was ~330gig or so). When I installed 16.04 I installed it on the same ssd. It said it would format(?) the part that I wasn't using for the Ubuntu install. I did not do anything to the ssd - making, resizing, or adjusting any new partitions, I was assuming that the install would do all this. Anyway, when it was done there was no way to boot into it...there wasn't any menu to give me a choice of what to boot into. I found help here and installed the boot-repair-disk into Ubuntu Live CD. I ran this repair tool and it now asks me if I want to delete Grub 2 files - it also says my system would be unbootable if I didn't install another boot loader. At the top of the window it has three lines highlighted to copy/paste into a terminal window. I would copy paste them here but my main pc is the one I'm installing Ubuntu on and this one is a 2nd pc that I'm using to research and obtain some help. ok I mailed them to myself here, they are -
sudo chroot "/mnt/boot-sav/sda5" dpkg --configure -a
sudo chroot "/mnt/boot-sav/sda5" apt-get install -fy
sudo chroot "/mnt/boot-sav/sda5" apt-get purge -y --force-yes grub*-common grub-common:i386

I guess I'm stuck here without know if I choose "yes" or "no" to delete grub 2 files and do I copy paste those 3 lines into a terminal?
Thank you in advance.

grahammechanical
July 29th, 2016, 04:53 PM
Boot Repair will produce a Boot Info Summary report and provide a URL to where the summary report is stored online. Paste that URL and we can see what Boot Repair has found.

When you installed Ubuntu what option did you choose to install? Erase disk and install Ubuntu? Install alongside Windows? Something Else?