PDA

View Full Version : ASUS EEE 1000 H which Ubuntu to use please?

benoit11
June 19th, 2016, 07:27 AM
Hello,

I have always used windows but would like to try and see if Ubuntu is faster than windows on an asus EEE 1000H which has only 1 gig of ram, could you please tell me which version of ubuntu shall I install? This is for a 32 bit processor.

Also, how will ubuntu find the drivers for each component of the motherboard?

Thank you,

Ben

Manuel_Olivier
June 19th, 2016, 07:36 AM
Hello Ben

I've been using Ubuntu for 2 years now, and I must say this a better deal than Windows since I never had any difficulty to install/use apps in a small amount of time. Also I find this OS very quick (I use a lot of games and I run some programs), but that might also depend of you machine...
Moreover, if you have considerations for the limits of your RAM, know that you can use swap to enhance your performance (check out the Ubuntu documentation).

Ubuntu v. 16.04 has been released recently and so for it's working, either way I was on Ubuntu v. 14 LTS a few months ago and I was very satisfied. You can get tutorials to install ubuntu on your computer (one tip although: try to keep your Windows OS, even if you delete all the data stored in it. A dual boot is the best option so far, you never know what can happen if your computer ticks...)

So long

Manuel

sudodus
June 19th, 2016, 07:45 AM
Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums :-)

I suggest that you start trying the newest version with long time support, 16.04 LTS. If there are problems I suggest that you try the previous (but still supported) version with long time support, 14.04.1 LTS.

I would suggest that you try a flavour of Ubuntu with a lighter desktop environment than standard Ubuntu (with Unity),

- Lubuntu with the ultra light LXDE
- Xubuntu with the medium light XFCE
- Ubuntu MATE with the medium light MATE