PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unable to install Ubuntu 14.04 or 16.04 on Dell XPS 8900 in any fashion

daniel.stolzberg
June 16th, 2016, 11:56 PM
Hello Ubuntu Community,

I have been using Ubuntu for a few years now and have had a wonderful experience.

Recently, my office purchased a new computer based on my recommendation that would have Ubuntu 16.04 desktop installed. I chose the Dell XPS 8900 because I had another XPS 8900 on which I easily installed a dual boot with Win 10 and Ubuntu 16.04 with no issues. I did not want to build a custom rig and it is easy for us to buy from Dell. Moving on...

I have been trying for two weeks to install Ubuntu and have been failing at every turn! I followed instructions online: Disabled fast startup in Windows, made plenty of space (500 GB) for Ubuntu OS, booted into Ubuntu Live on USB stick (created using Penguin Pendrive utility). Installation fails every time saying that my computer has 0 bytes remaining.

I abandoned the dual boot option after much struggle and formated the hard disk. I chose to erase the disk and do a fresh install Ubuntu 16.04 and I still get the same error! I tried manually making partitions for swap space (16 GB), / (30GB), and /home (~1.8TB).... no luck, same error.

This was done off of a 4GB thumbdrive that I had used previously to install Ubuntu 16.04 with success. I also tried downloading Ubuntu desktop from the website again and using another 16 GB USB thumbdrive... same errors.

I have also tried using 'legacy' boot mode with no luck. I also tried Ubuntu 14.04 with the same result. This makes me think it is my computer and not Ubuntu.

I 'examined' the drive when I received this error and it seems like the kern.log and syslog files are massive (each > 4 GB). I'm not sure why this is happening or if it's related to the installation issue. Again, this is a complete new system with no customization. This should be straightforward.