PDA

View Full Version : add the adobeRGB1998 profil in color setting in ubuntu

kaky951357
June 2nd, 2016, 07:30 PM
hello everyone,
I am relatively new in the world of linux, i installed ubuntu in my new laptop a : asus x555la i5 with an intel HD 5500 graphic ,after that i notice that the colors of display is kind of strange : the picture isn't realistic when i compared it to a external display that i plugged in VGA configured on adobeRGB1998 the difference was huge betwen them in terme of vivacity of colors , i go and check setting->color and i found that the integreted monitor is configured in less than sRGB in the CIE 1931 the triangle of colors that can be displayed is so small, i download the adobeRGB1998.icc try to add it to liste of profils that i can use it but its not working i probably did something wrong, and i came to ask for help to fixe my problem
thank you for trying to help me

mcduck
June 3rd, 2016, 12:02 PM
That sounds about right, that laptop definitely doesn't have the kind of display panel you'd need to show full sRGB range, let alone adobeRGB. Forcing it to use a color profile beyond it's capabilities won't give you more colors, it will just oversaturate the image and cause you to loose detail and accuracy.

The only profile you'd really want to use is one you get from a color calibrator. Assuming you don't have one available, the next best option is to use one provided by the manufacturer. And if there isn't one available, then using sRGB is the best you can do.
You'll only usally see sRGB-capable display panels on higher end displays, and adobeRGB is pretty much limited to professional workstation displays.

kaky951357
June 3rd, 2016, 03:36 PM
thank you for explanations