PDA

View Full Version : How to configure igpu for xserver and nvidia gpu for cuda?

kay-b
June 2nd, 2016, 12:33 PM
Ubuntu 16.04
uname -a:
Linux HOST 4.4.0-22-generic #40-Ubuntu SMP Thu May 12 22:03:46 UTC 2016 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Desktop grade:
CPU: Intel
GPU: Nvidia with 361.42

"I am a Linux Newbie"

What I want:
- the intel GPU shall run the xserver and my monitor, which is connected to the onboard DP
- the nvidia GPU shall only be used for CUDA specific computation etc.
- full control over the nvidia gpu (real time, stats, temps fan speeds...)

My Problem:
- neither nvidia-smi nor nvidia-settings work and I cannot control my nvidia GPU
(errors cited further down)

My Story:

After the short summary of my problem I want to dive into the topic:

Since the release of Ubuntu 16.04 I am tinkering and failing to achieve the following:

I want my intel GPU (i7 6700K) to drive my Xserver and everything associtated to it.
I want my dedicated nvidia GPU to only be used for Cuda based computation and the like.
I will add more than one nvidia GPU to the system, after I got my problems solved.

A short summary of my initial state:
I installed the proprietary Drivers for nvidia and intel (intel-microcode and nvidia-361.42) via apt-get and disabled secure boot via mokutul --disable-validation.
Then I set nvidia-prime to use the intel card.
Then I edited my xorg.conf to contain only one screen with intel gpu and intel driver. (ask for details if needed)
Testing the GPU for rendering with Blender, everything seemed fine, except that I couldn't get any stats of my gpu and nvidia-settings appeared empty.

Errors:
sudo nvidia-smi:
NVIDIA-SMI couldn't find libnvidia-ml.so library in your system. Please make sure that the NVIDIA Display Driver is properly installed and present in your system.
Please also try adding directory that contains libnvidia-ml.so to your system PATH.