View Full Version : [SOLVED] WIFI driver help please :)
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 03:56 AM
Hello. I am running the latest version of Ubuntu in VMware Workstation 12. I have a USB wifi card that operates on the RTL8821AU chipset. I have the driver (I think) but when I go into the terminal, and navigate to the driver directory, I put in this command "sudo make install" and I get "No rule to make target 'install'. Stop" I also get this when I try to do the "load" or "unload" command with sudo. I am new to Ubuntu and I would appreciate some help please. Please help me with a step by step guide in as much detail as you can. Thank you all so much. If you need any other information from me, please just advise :)
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 01:07 PM
Where did you get the driver from? Have you installed build-essential and linux-headers-generic?
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 03:14 PM
I have not installed build-essential and linux-headers-generic, and I got the driver from: https://github.com/ulli-kroll/rtl8821au
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 03:19 PM
UPDATE: Okay. I installed the 2 packages above and here is what I got from the terminal: https://thomaskal.gyazo.com/043da20f957adc7baf1c1ba6d71764df
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 03:28 PM
The terminal says to run
apt-get -f install to fix the problems and it may install another driver that should work
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 03:33 PM
It installed, then I rebooted but the wifi still is not showing up in the top right, Thanks for your help though :) https://thomaskal.gyazo.com/ebec3259270b16752f0bec5a7bc051c3
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 03:39 PM
See the wireless script link in my signature and post your results
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 03:47 PM
Okay. It will be a few mins. It is taking a while to update
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 03:55 PM
Here it is: http://pastebin.com/4wG7FgXj
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 04:25 PM
What happens if you
sudo modprobe -v rtl8821au
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 04:26 PM
FATAL: Module rtl8821au not found in directory /lib/modules/4.4.0-22-generic
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 04:31 PM
How about
sudo modprobe -v rtl8812au
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 04:33 PM
Still: modprobe: FATAL: Module rtl8812au not found in directory /lib/modules/4.4.0-22-generic
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 05:00 PM
Is secure boot enabled? If it is the module will not be allowed to load. I just built the rtl8812au-dkms on my computer and loaded it
[614657.287926] 8812au: module verification failed: signature and/or required key missing - tainting kernel
[614657.291653] RTL871X: module init start
[614657.291660] RTL871X: rtl8812au v4.3.8_12175.20140902
[614657.291663] RTL871X: build time: May 28 2016 10:54:41
[614657.291747] usbcore: registered new interface driver rtl8812au
You may have to try
sudo modprobe -v 8812au
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 05:07 PM
So how would I disable secureboot on Vmware if you know?
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 05:15 PM
This might do the trick for vmware install
sudo apt install mokutil
sudo mokutil --disable-validation
This was found at http://askubuntu.com/a/762255/300665
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 05:17 PM
The second command yields: EFI variables are not supported on this system
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 05:27 PM
Is there any response from
sudo modprobe -v 8812au
Might as well add results for
dkms status
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 05:38 PM
For sudo modprobe -v 8812au, when i hit enter it just goes to the next line. No error.
Fir dkms status gives me some hope: rtl8812au, 4.3.8.12175.20140902+dfsg, 4.4.0-22-generic, x86_64: installed
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 05:40 PM
But still nothing comes up in iwconfig or ifconfig for wlan0 or anything like that.
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 05:43 PM
For iwconfig, you will likely not see any wlan with the new naming, it might be wlx??????????? any result from
dmesg | grep 8812
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 06:06 PM
Okay. So. I tracked down the 1st party driver from Realtek and here it is along with all the documentation for Linux: https://www.dropbox.com/s/es6h2pyd0e75xe4/linux.zip?dl=0 (UPDATED LINK)
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 06:20 PM
No result from dmesg | grep 8812Just goes to the next line
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 06:44 PM
Does the wifi work in the host? It may have to be disconnected from the host to be used in the guest. The module installed works on normal installs. I am downloading a new ISO to try on vmware to see if my USB wireless card works
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 06:47 PM
Thank you. Yes It works on the host, but it is connected to the VM. It even shows up in Ubuntus USB list. Another thing I noticed when I "cd" into the driver folder, I try to run the command "sudo make install" to install the driver, but I get this error: install: cannot stat '8821au.ko': No such file or directory
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 06:48 PM
And that is the driver that came with the usb adapter for Linux. Sudo make load or unload brings up "no rule to make target 'load'. Stop" also. Is it something wrong with the VM or the driver you think?
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 06:55 PM
sudo apt-get remove rtl8812au-dkms
That driver was missing the alias for your wifi
git clone https://github.com/ulli-kroll/rtl8821au.git
Ignore if it says something about a non-empty directory, already exists
cd rtl8821au
make
sudo make install
Then restart the guest
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 06:59 PM
The very last command "sudo make install" I get "make: *** No rule to make target 'install'. Stop."
But everything ellse works fine
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 07:01 PM
is this an error with the Makefile?
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 07:23 PM
It is not a normal makefile for some reason, lets try a different way
sudo cp rtl8821au.ko /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/net/wireless
sudo depmod -a
Restart guest
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 07:27 PM
cp: cannot stat 'rtl8821au.ko': No such file or directory
For the first command
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 07:42 PM
Probably weren't in the correct directory
cd rtl8821au
sudo cp rtl8821au.ko /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/net/wireless
sudo depmod -a
Then restart guest
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 07:49 PM
Done. It just skips to the next line. The command goes through but still no wifi
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 07:50 PM
The first way we tried it: cd rtl8821aumake
sudo make install
That worked up untill the last command when it gave me the error. I read that it could be the Makefile. But it was so close.
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 07:56 PM
Post
lsmod | grep 8821
The makefile doesn't contain the normal install header so it won't work
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 07:56 PM
Post
lsmod | grep 8821
The makefile doesn't contain the normal install header so it won't work
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 07:59 PM
https://thomaskal.gyazo.com/744c9a5b1d435abfd2411356e09cede3
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 08:00 PM
Run the wireless script again, the module is loaded
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 08:05 PM
ok
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 08:08 PM
http://pastebin.com/pnjqntcL
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 08:13 PM
Try
systemctl restart NetworkManager.service
It shows it being renamed to enx from wlan0, so it could be the network manager bug
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 08:25 PM
You legend.
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 08:25 PM
It worked. Thank you so much.
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 08:29 PM
So now, when I restarted. Its gone again!!!
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 08:30 PM
If it works, use the thread tools to mark as solved, I hope that bug is fixed soon
A note to anyone who may come across this thread from a search, please use https://github.com/abperiasamy/rtl8812AU_8821AU_linux
sudo apt-get install git dkms build-essential linux-headers-generic
git clone https://github.com/abperiasamy/rtl8812AU_8821AU_linux.git
sudo dkms add ./rtl8812AU_8821AU_linux
sudo dkms build -m 8812au -v 1.0
sudo dkms install -m 8812au -v 1.0
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 08:31 PM
Good news: It has detected the wifi adapter and I can see my networks, but I can barely connect to them. And the connection is very slow
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 08:32 PM
Thank you very much again for your help. I couldnt have done it without you :)
jeremy31
May 28th, 2016, 08:37 PM
It may be worth trying the alternative I posted, I know chili555 has posted answers using it.
Gone after a restart, did you not have this set as persistant
https://www.vmware.com/support/ws3/doc/img/ws32_disksa5_t.gif
thomas110
May 28th, 2016, 08:39 PM
I did. For some reason I have to unplug and re-plug the adapter in then it detects it, and I am able to connect to a network but load minimal things. Almost like the adapter is running at like 5% power
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2 Copyright © 2025 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.