PDA

View Full Version : potentially usefull idea lineassist need help strategizing!

soulglo83
April 1st, 2005, 03:19 AM
hello ubuntu forums readers,

i am an amateur programmer, who has taken several classes in popular languages. the most formidable/capable of those is c/cpp however recently i have become interested in java, for my 1st project i tried to limit my ideas to those that are at the heart of gnu/linux, those that are selfless in nature, and accessable to all[except the desperately impoverished :-(, but thats hardware related obviously] the wonderful human beings on this planet. so how does the idea of a java applet, that seamlessly (to the user) pipes information (im's) to and from users who sign up w/ ubuntu or anywhere else willing to host this. this applet would enable ubuntu to provide 'liveassist' help w/ struggling ubuntu beginners. assuming a heavy hearted host or two would host the db and provide an accessable place where users can sign up to enter a database(after verification of course), when signed online these people would become active candidates to anonymously help people in need! im not sure this can be done as its a more of an honor system deal, maybe someone would have to moderate and authorize advice before it was accesable to the user. this is merely a skeleton, obviously a system that entrusts other people with vulnerable people's computers has to be policed somehow. maybe it would only be accessable at a time when a majority of the people in the db are online and restricting hours means less wasted man time, as people will typically resolve issues on there on(big assumption!, googling most problems for ubuntu is pretty easy though). additionally restricting the hours will make policing communications a little easier, after maturing a little scripts could be added to automate a lot of the advice and policing and even administration. has this been done? is it even feasable? and more importantly would anyone even be interested? (the ap