PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] xubuntu power manager - suspend doesn't work

pastim
May 3rd, 2016, 09:12 PM
I have just installed xubuntu 16.04 on my laptop as a complete fresh install (including home). All's well except the power manager.

I can sudo pm-suspend and that works.
I can set the action on shutting the lid to suspend, and that works.
When I set the action to suspend after 30 minutes inactivity I get a bubble saying "GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.login1.SleepVerbNotSup ported: Sleep verb not supported.".

I am not trying to Hibernate, so swap issues should not apply, and anyway my swap partition is large enough (6GB on a 4GB machine) and active (and yes, I have double-checked).

On previous xubuntu versions (14.04 & 10, 15.04 & 10) it did work.

I'm no linux expert, but a user for several years, and usually make things work in the end.....

So what can this be? Where do I look? I'm guessing that somewhere there is a config file with the wrong verb in it (probably hibernate), or else there's an authorisation issue.

I can't find any log telling me anything useful. Is there one I should be investigating?

ajgreeny
May 3rd, 2016, 09:44 PM
Flipping smilies!!

I edited your post and disabled them, which you can do if you use the Advanced reply and scroll down below the text entry box.

A colon immediately followed by some letters or bracket is read as a smily by default

pastim
May 3rd, 2016, 10:51 PM
Thanks. How would I have written the original post to avoid it (since I was not replying to anything)?:D

ajgreeny
May 4th, 2016, 11:12 AM
Scroll down below the text entry box and you will see an option to "Disable smilies".
A new thread alwsys gives you the Advanced text box, just like I mentioned above.

egeezer
May 4th, 2016, 09:18 PM
You might check in Synaptic whether you have uswsusp installed (you probably do, but it wouldn't hurt to check).

pastim
May 4th, 2016, 09:51 PM