PDA

View Full Version : Update causes blank screen/can't log in

aleddilwynfisher
April 26th, 2016, 08:05 PM
Hi,

I got a message asking to update Ubuntu and started the update.

Things were going fine but suddenly I got a blank screen and, after a long wait and the laptop going quiet besides the fan, I had to switch it off.

I switched it back on and just get the console, which I have little/no experience of. I tried sudo apt-get update as suggested elsewhere but it doesn't seem to work (just says it couldn't download most things). Also tried other suggestions elsewhere, like sudo init 3 and sudo init 5. Just says 'PolicyKit daemon disconnected from the bus. We are no longer a registered authentication agent.'

What can I do? I am very new to Ubuntu and the laptop came with it preinstalled. Very worried about losing work on there.

Thanks,
Aled

pickarooney
April 26th, 2016, 08:08 PM
does typing startx when you have logged in to the console do anything?

aleddilwynfisher
April 26th, 2016, 08:22 PM
Just tried that - seemed like things were happening as the console disappeared for a bit, but now I'm back there. Lots of code... Last thing it says is "waiting for X server to shut dow. (II) Server terminated successfully (O). Closing log file"

aleddilwynfisher
April 26th, 2016, 08:42 PM
I should've said - when I turn it on, I get the Dell logo as normal, then the Ubuntu logo as normal, but before the usual log-in screen, it goes into text with my computer name and 'tty1', and asks for my login and password. After typing them in, I can do commands.

Bashing-om
April 27th, 2016, 12:41 AM
aleddilwynfisher; Hello;

As you can log in via the terminal, the situation is salvageable .

We need to know what release and what (D)esktop (E)nvironment you are running. ( unity, gnome kde, xfce ??)
Then we can examine what is not taking place in the GUI .

it ain't nothing but a thing

aleddilwynfisher
April 27th, 2016, 08:19 AM
Thanks for helping!