PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Help! Fresh Lubuntu 16.04 install won't start

Ivna
April 26th, 2016, 02:16 PM
Hello, I'm totally new to Ubuntu. I have an old netbook (Samsung N145 Plus) that was extremely slow on Windows 7 starter. I've decided to try Ubuntu for the first time yesterday. I've followed Lubuntu's instructions to the simple USB install, and did a fresh install yesterday, the one that formats the disk before installing. Everything went smootly on the installation, but after the reboot, it never booted. The only phrase that it shows is:

"/dev/sda1: clean, 121563/920272 files, 701079/3680256 blocks"

If I hold shift, I get the Grub menu and I can boot in recovery mode. I've tried all of the options there, although I couldn't start the network to or update the packages on the package checker, but I've tried the Grub update and file check with no success. If I resume the boot, I can boot and login (I'm using this netbook to post here). I tried to update the drivers, I get an Unknown Device that was disabled, I've selected the proprietary driver for it, still the same message. I wonder if it is the Graphics, since on this netbook the Graphics is inside the processor? I've installed the SysInfo package and nothing seems out of the norm.
Since I'm pretty new to this, please post any instructions with details... If you ask me to open the terminal at the recovery or installation media please say how and from where, for example...

Thank you,

Ivna

navarro2
April 27th, 2016, 05:45 AM
I am running into the same problem on a old Dell desktop. It probably has to do with those darned video drivers.

This problem sounds similar to the one here:
http://askubuntu.com/questions/383636/12-04-3-can-start-only-after-press-resume-in-rescue-mode-every-boot-proble/391608#391608

Seems like one of the simpler solutions is to boot into recovery and use the "nomodeset" option.