PDA

View Full Version : Request Help in Resizing partitions in the installation of Linux Distro Lubantu 15.10

paul258
April 26th, 2016, 03:51 AM
Hello, I am new to Linux. I have a Toshiba Satellite M45-S265 with windows Vista home 32 bit installed. I made a live boot CD with Linux Distro (Lubantu 15.10 i386.iso). I booted into Linux and it asked to install in the "SOMETHING ELSE" section and to resize my partitions. So that I can install other Linux distros and keep my files .I don't know how to resize the partitions without keeping windows Vista and what partitions to resize. Can anyone give me some assistance. I would appreciate any help given to me . Thank You in advance.

oldfred
April 26th, 2016, 04:53 AM
Boot into Ubuntu live installer and post this:
sudo parted /dev/sda unit s print

What are specs of your system? CPU, RAM & Video
Older lightweight systems need good video cards to run Ubuntu with Unity. They either need the gnome-panel or fallback which is menus or Lubuntu or Xubuntu which are lighter weight distributions.

paul258
April 26th, 2016, 05:51 AM
THE SPECS

Pricing

Part Number
PSM40U-07V001

Battery Information

Battery Chemistry
Lithium Ion (Li-Ion)

Battery Capacity
4300 mAh

Maximum Battery Run Time
2.70 Hour

Interfaces/Ports

FireWire/i.LINK
Yes

Total Number of USB Ports

Display & Graphics

Screen Size
15.40 "

Display Screen Type
Active Matrix TFT Color LCD

Aspect Ratio
16:10

Screen Mode
WXGA

Screen Resolution
1280 x 800

Graphics Controller Manufacturer
Intel

Graphics Controller Model
Graphics Media Accelerator 900

Graphics Memory Capacity
Up to 128 MB

Graphics Memory Accessibility
Shared

Storage

Storage Size
100 GB

Hard Drive Interface
Ultra ATA/100 (ATA-6)

Hard Drive RPM

Optical Drive Type
DVD-Writer

General Information

Manufacturer
Toshiba

UPC Code

Manufacturer Part Number
PSM40U-07V001

Brand Name
Toshiba

Product Name
Satellite M45-S265 Notebook

Marketing Information