PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Lubuntu installation problems.

ghost14
April 11th, 2016, 11:38 PM
I’ve seen this problem brought up all over the place, but no solution seems to work for me.

I have an “intel D2500CCE Atom D2500 Dual LAN & Dual COM Fanless Mini-ITX PC w/ 2GB, Morex T3410” (this is its exact name, plugging it into any search should bring up any other specs needed.) It was given to me by a friend who moved away and was unable to take it with him. When I first booted it up I thought there would be nothing on it, but it loaded a GNU GRUB (Version 0.97) command prompt, I don’t believe there is anything else loaded on this computer, but because it is not brand-new I can’t be sure.

I’m new to Linux and, because it is not a very powerful machine, I wanted to install the LTS Lubuntu (Version 14.04.4)-(64bit.) I downloaded it and made a bootable USB flash drive using Universal-USB-Installer-1.9.6.4.
I made the computer boot into flash drive on startup and I was able to get to the Lubuntu menu. When I tried to install or try before install the screen goings black.
I looked around and the solution seemed to be to edit “Try Lubuntu without installing” and replace the words “quiet” and “splash” with the words “nomodeset” and “xforcevesa.”
It seemed to work for a short time and it looked like Lubuntu was booting but after a few walls of text (some too fast to read) the screen goes black and I assume it hard-locks or crashes.

I apologize if this question has been answered before, but I’ve done numerous searches and can’t seem to find any solutions for why this is happening.

mail-2o
April 12th, 2016, 08:31 PM