PDA

View Full Version : Need advice about a simple, cross-platform project

Dry Lips
April 8th, 2016, 04:10 PM
Hi everyone!

I need some advice about a project that hopefully isn’t too advanced. I have quite a bit of general computer knowledge, except that I’m no programmer. However, I have an idea for a project and would like to use this project as learning project, while at the same time making a program that hopefully is genuinely helpful to people. First of all, there are no programs out there that does exactly what I want to do, so there is a real niche that I want to fill.

Fortunately I have a detailed vision of exactly what I want to achieve, but I need advice and pointers about how to go ahead and what I need to learn in order to accomplish this.

The project:

Basically the idea itself is dead simple, and technical users wouldn't need this. Basically the idea is to use a custom hosts file to block certain unwanted webpages. However, even such a simple task as manually editing their hosts file is simply too advanced for the majority of users. (Btw, the idea here isn’t to block ads or adult content, but an altogether different type of websites/content. There are no programs that blocks exactly the kind of content I have in mind here.)

So the basic idea is to have a simple cross-platform, password protected gui program that adds a list of unwanted websites to the hosts file, while keeping any existing entries intact.

The changes should be possible to disable from within the program, and when uninstalling the program any changes made to the hosts file should be reverted.

Additional features:

I also eventually want to include a feature so that program regularly checks for an updated file of blocked sites, and automatically downloads it.

I also eventually want to enable optional blocking of other types of content (for instance ads, adult content), but this isn’t the primary goal here. (People generally use adblock.)

Technical Requirements: