PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] USB drive boot problem

glaman5266
April 2nd, 2016, 06:33 AM
Hello. I'm not sure if this is the place to post this (new here and to Linux), but here goes. I'm attempting to create a bootable/live USB with Ubuntu on it. I'm new to Linux but I have successfully done this with Linux Mint on a 4 gig flash drive. I'm aware of how to change the BIOS settings to boot from the USB first and how to create the live disk with Windows (currently using Windows 7). I'm liking Mint so far, but I want to try Ubuntu. So far I have created a live USB with my 500gb external drive after using a 3rd party formatter to format in FAT32 and then Pendrive to create it.

When I boot the compy with the drive attached it will not boot. I have double-checked in the BIOS settings that it should boot from the USB first and I'm pretty sure the live disk was created properly (I can see all the files and whatnot in Windows). Even trying to manually boot from the USB in the boot options immediately on startup does not yield results. All I get is a blank screen with a blinking underscore in the top-left corner.

What do I need to do to get it to boot into Ubuntu? Is it because I'm using an external hard drive instead of a flash drive? Are there boot settings I need to tweak yet? I read something about video drivers somewhere... I don't know what to do next.
Any help would be appreciated. :)

EDIT: I'm not looking to install it at the moment. I simply want to try it out. The version I'm trying to use is 14.04.4.

Bucky Ball
April 2nd, 2016, 08:38 AM
Thread moved to Installation and Upgrades.

Welcome. If you are trying to boot from the USB then whether you have external drives attached or not makes no difference. They don't come in to it. You are attempting to boot Ubuntu from the live USB and run it from that if I understand you correctly.