PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Boot/Install Problem

rouxster2
April 2nd, 2016, 06:14 AM
I am new to this, please bear with me. So I was trying to breath new life into one of my old devices, a Toshiba running on Windows XP, with Ubuntu. Followed all of the steps up to running the demo and installing the full version, where I ran into a problem. I clicked install, and a message came up telling me that I should reboot my device before going any further. So I did. In the past, on Windows XP, I had set a password that I would have to type in before logging in to my Windows account. As usual, I was asked to put in a password, and when I did this happened:
http://i.imgur.com/Ucts1Dq.jpg
It has been stuck on this screen for three hours now, and nothing has been able to change it so far. This is with version 14.04.4. I would really appreciate some help. Thanks!

mörgæs
April 2nd, 2016, 08:38 AM
Hi, welcome to the fora.
If the computer is from the XP era I recommend Lubuntu, not Ubuntu.

rouxster2
April 2nd, 2016, 08:42 AM
Thank you! Now, how do I get Ubuntu off the computer, since I can't access it past the password?

mörgæs
April 2nd, 2016, 08:53 AM
Where is the password created? In BIOS?

Bucky Ball
April 2nd, 2016, 08:54 AM
Thread moved to Installation and Upgrades.

Welcome. You don't need to yet. You can just forget about the installed Ubuntu and run Lubuntu or Xubuntu from live media. If you like it and it works, install right over what you already have. In fact, if you choose 'Something Else' at the partitioning section, you can use the existing /swap partition and manually partition how you like it. Use the existing / partition as your new / partition for the new install and tick the partition to 'Format' in that column. ;)

I advise you 'Try *buntu' from the live media prior to attempting to install. Check what works and what doesn't.