PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Weird errors when trying to upgrade with apt-get regarding avidemux

Grace_Palazzolo
April 1st, 2016, 05:29 AM
Not sure what to make of these errors that occurred while performing an update/upgrade with apt-get. I am still fairly new at this, so I can't quite parse everything, but it sounds like I should remove avidemux, although I don't know what effect that will have on my system overall. Also there seems to be a problem of trying to overwrite an existing file.

Here is the terminal output:

The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required:
lib32gcc1 libc6-i386
Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
The following packages have been kept back:
gimp libgimp2.0
The following packages will be upgraded:
avidemux2.6-common
1 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 2 not upgraded.
1 not fully installed or removed.
Need to get 0 B/425 kB of archives.
After this operation, 1,706 kB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n]
(Reading database ... 703895 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack .../avidemux2.6-common_1%3a2.6.12-1~getdeb2~wily_all.deb ...
Unpacking avidemux2.6-common (1:2.6.12-1~getdeb2~wily) over (1:2.6.10-1~ppa+trusty9) ...
dpkg: error processing archive /var/cache/apt/archives/avidemux2.6-common_1%3a2.6.12-1~getdeb2~wily_all.deb (--unpack):
trying to overwrite '/usr/share/avidemux6/help/QtScriptQT4/class_spin_box_control.png', which is also in package avidemux2.6-plugins-qt4:amd64 1:2.6.12-2~ppa+trusty1
dpkg-deb: error: subprocess paste was killed by signal (Broken pipe)
Processing triggers for man-db (2.6.7.1-1ubuntu1) ...
Processing triggers for hicolor-icon-theme (0.13-1) ...
Errors were encountered while processing:
/var/cache/apt/archives/avidemux2.6-common_1%3a2.6.12-1~getdeb2~wily_all.deb
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)