PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Cannot boot Ubuntu Mate from USB

aaron126
March 7th, 2016, 05:43 PM
Hi there.

Over the last year or so I've been getting to know Ubuntu better, happily fixing any issues I come across as I go, and usually finding the answers in these forums. Before I ask my question I'd just like to say thank you to all that have eased my path, and given me a flicker of understanding. Thanks.

I've recently got stuck, but for the first time I cannot seem to find a fix, or at least one that is definitive. The answer is almost certainly here somewhere, but I can't find it ... I've become very confused as to how to proceed. Help would be greatly appreciated. I am no expert, but am willing to get stuck at the command line ...

Problem - cannot boot from USB

I have a laptop (ASUS UL30A) with a working Dual Boot of Windows7 & Ubuntu14.04 (both 64 bit) - this is all good. I would like to test Ubuntu Mate 15.10 from a USB drive. I have downloaded the ISO, and used Tuxboot to write it to USB. This seems to have been done successfully. The USB in question is a brand new Sandisk Extreme USB 3.0 32GB. The laptop has a functioning USB2 port. When I start up the laptop, with the USB plugged in, the laptop just boots up from the HDD, ignoring the USB. When I go in to BIOS to investigate I see that the USB drive is there, but is recognised as a local disk, rather than a removable USB.

I have tried reformatting the USB (FAT32), but this makes no difference.

I have used other USB drives to do this kind of thing in the past without any problems. Am I being stupid?

After searching around, there seems to be talk of flipping removable bits, using 3rd party software to properly clean the USB, or simply just tellng me that the Sandisk drive is no good, and I should just get another USB.

What's my best way forward?

Thanks in advance,
Aaron

pfeiffep
March 7th, 2016, 05:52 PM