PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Dual Boot - Replacing LXLE with Xubuntu on a Windows Vista computer

dave226
February 24th, 2016, 07:03 PM
Hi

Any suggestions would be gratefully appreciated. I am fairly new to linux/ubuntu but liking it very much. A while ago I installed LXLE alongside Vista with no problems. I did the install as an automatic installation, i.e. I let LXLE decide on how to do the partitioning. I would now like to replace LXLE with XUbuntu. I am happy to overwrite LXLE completely. I have XUbuntu on a USB pen drive but cannot decide on the best way to go about replacing LXLE with XUbuntu. I am a little confused with the way the partitions are now set up and worried I may damage Windows. The partitions are currently:

63 MB
Healthy (EISA Configuration)
Recovery (D:)
10 GB NTFS
Healthy (Primary Partition)
OS (C:)
171.50 GB NTFS
Healthy (System, Boot....)
49.27 GB
Healthy (Prim Partition)
2 GB Healthy (primary partition)

The latter two partitions I am guessing relate to the LXLE installation; the second and third relate to Windows Vista; the first one (63MB).... I have no idea!

Should I:

Use EasyBCD 2.3 to completely revert the partitioning back to when it just had vista on it and then install Xubuntu (as I did LXLE)? This would, I guess, involve merging the latter two partitions (above) to the OS (C:) partition.
Can I use the USB pen drive which has Xubuntu and do an automatic install (the first choice on the installation)? Will this just overwrite the previous linux installation (which I'm fine about) or will there be some complications with this. I am less happy (at this stage) about deciding on the partitioning myself (the last choice on the installation)

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Dave

irvine_himself2
February 24th, 2016, 07:20 PM