PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Installing Ubuntu on ex-school laptop

Scrollin
February 20th, 2016, 04:47 AM
Hello everyone.

Here's just a little rant about the situation...

Basically I graduated from school last year and inherited the school-issued Win 7 machine. The administration refused to remove all their bloatware and install a clean copy of Win 7, because the scheme whereby students rented laptops from the school at an astronomical price ($150/year for 4 years) was discontinued after basically being considered a failed experiment. (The students who didn't want to pay were horribly disadvantaged by not having a school-issued laptop, because until 2 years ago no other devices besides the school-issued ones were allowed to connect to the network) So ultimately, I could either give the notebook back to them for no compensation, or pocket it and never speak with them again. Pretty obvious which one was the better choice.

Anyway... On to the actual problem.

I'm currently trying to install Ubuntu and I'm a bit stuck as to how I could do it. The Win 7 machine I'm trying to install it on has no CD/DVD drive, and the BIOS is passworded so I don't see how I could change it to boot from a USB. I figure somehow it's possible to get around all this, but for about an hour or so I've been trying to think of how I can do this, and nothing really comes to mind, since I'm not the most experienced at it all. What I really would like to do is totally remove everything from this harddrive, and remain only with Ubuntu.

If that's possible, please let me know how I could do that. Otherwise I think using wubi to install Ubuntu through Win should work fine and meet my needs if nothing else is possible. Although I've never used wubi before, and don't even know what the state of it is like now.

Thanks.

uRock
February 20th, 2016, 04:54 AM
Have you looked into resetting the BIOS for your model laptop?

hakuna_matata
February 20th, 2016, 11:58 AM