PDA

View Full Version : How did you switch to linux?

zircon_34
February 17th, 2016, 03:33 AM
I know I know, this might seem like the typical thread. Well instead of writing a huge novel about your switch, I would be interested to know a) what was the tipping point that made you switch? b) How do you see the world differently after your switch?

My "short" story:

I came from windows, through Mac OSX and finally switched to Linux last September. I have been playing around with linux for about 10 years, tried dual boots, VM, but one day just decided to buy a laptop dedicated to linux and actually try to solve everything (or almost) including work related problems using open source software. I actually started to use Libre office to write papers and give presentations switch my email client to thunderbird, etc... There were some up and downs. However, I have to say, it is possible to use linux in most situation, stay persistent, even in the hostile world of incompatibility between windows and OSx format using people (e.g. docx and eps format).

Now I see the world much differently. I see how other people are often locked in proprietary software, and I feel more freedom. I learned how to use inkscape instead of adobe illustrator. I love my desktop (gnome and cinnamon) and the freedom of choice, which doesn’t exist in other OS. Life is just better with linux ;) and more bumpy sometimes...

drascus
February 17th, 2016, 03:54 AM
it took me a little searching but here is literally the video where I learned about linux and took my plunge : http://www.zdnet.com/article/try-a-free-operating-system/

montag dp
February 17th, 2016, 05:08 AM
I had to use it for grad school (starting in 2011). After a few months I decided I liked it better than Windows and installed it on my laptop. I've been dual booting since then, but really nowadays I only keep Windows around for compiling some cross-platform software that I put out.