PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Several attempts to install Ubuntu alongside Win10... all failed.

mesmerized
February 16th, 2016, 06:38 PM
Dear Users,

I'm a newbie when it comes to Linux, but I've decided to give it a shot and install Ubuntu alongside Win10. I've been following this guide step by step http://www.pcsteps.com/3305-prepare-windows-dual-boot-installation/ but unfortunately for some reason not only does Ubuntu installation not offer the "alongside Windows" option, but what's even worse it doesn't see any of the partitions I created. I have two hard drives in my laptop - one is an mSSD drive where the OS is located and the other one is a regular HDD where I store data.

Hope someone can help me out.

Thanks

Geoffrey_Arndt
February 16th, 2016, 07:08 PM
OK, . . . to start off any help thread, please provide the basics:

> Your complete PC specs (make, model, cpu, ram, gpu info (what video chipset or system? nVidia, AMD, Intel, etc.))?
> Why use a non-Ubuntu official documents guide? . . . that can be problematic from what we've seen on these forums.
> Often, the "not-seeing" the Alongside option is because Windows fast-start/Hibernation has not been turned off. Or . . . there is no recognizable space on the disks that Ubuntu can be installed into. Ubuntu either requires "unformatted" or unallocated disk space (after shrinking the Windows "main" partition). Linux (Ubuntu) cannot be installed on a WIndows file system (fat32, ntfs, etc.). If you do pre-setup a partition for Ubuntu, it should use an "ext4" linux filesystem. Windows cannot do that. Must use either the gparted program, or a Live CD like Parted Magic:

Note - best (safest) way to install is to NOT use Install Alongside, but to use custom install (the "Something Else" option on the installer).

http://partedmagic.com/?s=memtest

(http://partedmagic.com/?s=memtest)

mesmerized
February 17th, 2016, 04:26 AM
Thank you for your reply Geoffrey_Arndt