PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu 14.04 installation via USB on UEFI + SSD-HDD part + NVIDIA drivers (Windows10)

tanguy3
February 11th, 2016, 05:05 PM
What got solved here (for total noobs, newbies or beginners) :
- adequate SSD & HDD partition (/ or /home /swap) & optimization for Ubuntu 14.04
- boot of Ubuntu 14.04 via UEFI (issues at first installation - screen becoming black)
- complete Ubuntu 14.04 installation (each step carefully)
- installation of NVIDIA drivers (latest version 352) for an adequate (& non-blurred) screen resolution.

Happy reading,
Best,
Tanguy
- and a very big thanks to Oldfred for his very kind/patient help

--------------------------------------------------
Hi ):P,

As many here in this sub-section, I am eager to test ubuntu alongside my windows 10 (installed on a 240 Go SSD).
This SSD is already partitionned (Windows 10 occupying the largest partition), and a small 23.28 Go partition is currently RAW. there is currently a broken Debian OS on it (I'd like to erase it, but don't know yet how).

Windows has probably being installed via UEFI (as there is a 100 Mb UEFI partition in disk management) - so I believe I need to install ubuntu via the "UEFI USB disk" option after having powered on the desktop with USB stick on it and repeatedly ticking F11. So far so good.
Then I get a screen with various options including "installing Ubuntu" - which I selected.
Then, an initial screen starts with sequential lines being "printed". Only 2 lines got printed, and then screen went black/powered off (because no signal), like nothing happened anymore. The USB stick light went off too, but the computer was still on. After a few minutes, I decided to switch it off. So far my Windows OS is still working-operational (and hope it will stay as such).

Any ideas on why it went wrong ?
Thx a lot for your help,
Best,
Tanguy

Notes: