PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to install Ubuntu to an already made partition without wiping the full hard drive

Camilo_Morrice
January 29th, 2016, 10:14 PM
I'm new to Ubuntu so sorry for the noob questions.
I'm dual booting Windows, Remix OS 2, and (hopefully) Ubuntu on one hard drive.
I made this hard drive into a couple partitions with each operating system getting partitions for itself.
I want to install Ubuntu onto my already made partition but I can't find the option to and to me it looks like Ubuntu will completely wipe the hard drive for itself.
How can I install Ubuntu onto my already created partition? (it was created in windows if that matter at all)

Dennis N
January 29th, 2016, 10:48 PM
When you reach the page in the Installer titled "Installation Type" select the "Something Else" Option near the bottom. Then on the next page you can select the partition you intend to use for the installation, click on "Change" and fill in a few details on how it is to be used - usually ext4 journaling file system, and mount at /. You probably already have a swap partition, it should be detected during the install and reused.

Good Luck.

Melnik_Hoogland
January 29th, 2016, 10:56 PM