PDA

View Full Version : Disable Xscreensaver during video playing on Chrome

mroussin51
January 28th, 2016, 10:37 PM
Greetings,

I am using Xscreensaver to display my 24,000 plus pictures as my screensaver. If there is a better option please chime in. The version of Ubuntu is 15.10 Desktop 64 bit. Thank you developers! It is extremely stable and does whatever I ask it to. I am using the google-chrome-stable browser. We watch Netflix and it just works. However, the screensaver comes on while watching. I spent some time looking into a solution to no avail. I initially looked into using Flash to disable it but the Flash is a part of Chrome with no unique PID. I decided to use the audio as so I wrote a shell script. I'm an absolute novice so be careful if you try this

if pacmd list-sink-inputs | grep 'application.name = "Chrome"'; then...

The problem is that it Prints its output to the terminal. I am looking for a way to stop that. So when Chrome is outputting audio I write 12:00 hours to the "timeout". Actually, I am writing the whole file since I don't know how to parse the file and just write a single value. I am new and here to learn. I will post the script but not all the configuration files. You can get them from your computer and modify them accordingly. This script works quite well. I am concerned mainly with its output to the Terminal. I want to start it in the background at startup. Is that a problem? If so, what is the suggested fix. Also, as you can see I am writing the whole file instead of just the timeout parameter. How do I tell the script just to write to the line I need and stop output to the Terminal?

Here's the script, my first:

#!/bin/sh

# This is my trial script to learn how to read and write data to a file.

FILE="/home/kim/.xscreensaver" # The xscreensaver settings
FILE1="/home/kim/.xscreen5min" # 5 minutes to activate screensaver "timeout: 0:05:00"
FILE2="/home/kim/.xscreen12hour" # 12 hours setpoint watching netflix "timeout: 12:00:00"