PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Downgrade?

Sopan_Kaushal
January 23rd, 2016, 01:03 PM
Hello everyone. This is Sopan Kaushal and this is my first post in here. Though I have been a frequent visitor to your forum since ages now. I have been using Ubuntu when it was like Ubuntu 7. something. But due to unavoidable circumstances I was not able to use a PC for like 3 years.

Here I am now with nothing that I can remember anything which I used to do, so I would like you guys help.

I have installed Ubuntu 15.10. Is this a good idea? Or should I switch to the LTS before it's too late?

If yes is it possible to somehow downgrade or something to Ubuntu 14.04 LTS so that I do not loose my data this is the only OS that is on my HDD.

Sorry if this has been asked before I am still learning to get back up on my feet. Kindly advice.

EDIT1: I thought I might give a little bit of what I am doing currently. I have completed my CCNA and now I am perusing CEH, looking forward to doing an ESCA and OSCP afterwards. I want to make my career in Pen-Testing.

howefield
January 23rd, 2016, 01:12 PM
Is 15.10 working for you ?

If it is I'd leave it alone, 15.10 is supported until July this year with the next LTS (16.04) is due out in April.

That gives you around 3 months to get to 16.04 before 15.10 goes end of life, you will be able to upgrade from 15.10 to 16.04 which will be supported for 5 years.

Sopan_Kaushal
January 23rd, 2016, 01:31 PM
There have been issues with sources list and updates and all but yes it is working for me fine right now.

Also looking forward to upgrade to an LTS I feel like a noob installing 15.10 in the first place. I should have know better. Also can I tag along with another doubt of mine in here or am I supposed to make another post for that?

I am trying to install OpenVAS on my Ubuntu but I am not getting a proper read on how to can you guide me about the same please as well?
BTW Fanks a lot for the fast reply :D

vasa1
January 23rd, 2016, 02:50 PM