PDA

View Full Version : Learning a New Language

branau
January 18th, 2016, 07:07 PM
Currently, I speak English as my native language, Spanish with advanced fluency, and German and Finnish with conversational fluency. This year, I've decided to take on a new challenge, and learn a language that is not of European origin and doesn't use the Latin alphabet. Particularly, I've been thinking about learning either Chinese, Japanese, or Korean, since I work as a web developer, and these countries are influential in the tech industry. As far as personal preference goes, I enjoyed anime as a kid but nowadays I don't really have any interests related to their cultures outside of tech and history, but I find all three countries fascinating in those 2 aspects. The only preference I could possibly give is that I've traveled to Japan once, and it would be cool to go back again someday on vacation. Any thoughts?

TheFu
January 19th, 2016, 04:08 AM
Learn python, Ruby, Perl6, C, C++ first. ;) I've learned about 30 languages in my career. Really only use about 10 these days - assuming you count CSS, HTML as languages (I usually don't).

You are well passed my spoken language knowledge. English as native, Spanish (not even conversational) and I took 3 yrs of German many decades ago. I know 3 sentences in German - all related to drinking bier. ;)

I've spent lots of time in Japan, about 3 weeks in China and a few days in Korea - each is amazing in their own way. Why not learn Hindi or Thai or Afrikaans? Just a thought. ;)
In Korea, I ran into natives with American-English accents - at least for the fluent English speakers. Usually, people seem to be taught (or learn) the British accents, IME traveling. Having the toll-free number to call a translator has helped when a phrasebook, pictures, pointing and my acting just didn't work. ;) Sounds like you've been there. I've only traveled to about 30 countries, so hope to get to another 100 before I die.