PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How do I upgrade from x64 15.04 to 15.10?

fr33z0n3r
January 9th, 2016, 07:38 PM
I have not seen any indicator in Software Updater indicating the upgrade is available...is it still possible to perform this upgrade method as of Jan 1 2016?

I don't seem to have any issues, but I'm no expert. There is one 3rd party app (owncloud client) I am not upgrading due to issues. I can't believe that would prevent the upgrade?

grahammechanical
January 9th, 2016, 07:52 PM
I do not think that 15.04 will reach end of life until the end of January this year. And even then I do not think that the maintainers are quick to close the 15.04 repositories.

What setting do you have in System Settings>Software & Updates>Updates tab? What is "Notify me of a new Ubuntu version" set to? Is it set to "For any new version?" That is the setting you need. Then start an update and see what you are offered when you run Software Updater from the Dash.

Regards

fr33z0n3r
January 9th, 2016, 08:10 PM
the settings are correct. I even tried altering them to "reset" them to no avail.

deadflowr
January 9th, 2016, 08:16 PM
Run the manual update commands from a terminal:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
are there any errors?

shane_faulkinbury2
January 9th, 2016, 08:23 PM
deadflower's recommendation should work, but you also might try sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

fr33z0n3r
January 9th, 2016, 08:34 PM
Run the manual update commands from a terminal:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
are there any errors?

No errors, but I am NOT upgrading the app that is listed. I don't know why it would have an impact on an Ubuntu upgrade.

user@host:~$ sudo apt-get upgrade
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Calculating upgrade... The following package was automatically installed and is no longer required:
libneon27
Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove it.
Done
The following packages will be upgraded: